Count Orlok’s Nightmare Gallery

This past weekend has really felt like summer with the excessive heat, so I am really thankful that I have air conditioning. Anyways, let’s think back to better weather, maybe around late May. During Memorial Day weekend, my buddies and I went to Massachusetts where we visited Boston for a bit, but our final destination was Salem. The first place we saw was…

Count Orlok’s Nightmare Gallery, located in Salem, Massachusetts

IMG_5978

Count Orlok’s Nightmare Gallery is open Monday to Saturday from 10am to 6pm and Sunday from 12pm to 5pm. This schedule is applicable during the summer only, check their website for hours if you visit during any other season. Admission is $8 (save $1 if you buy the tickets online; not sure if it needs to be printed or not as I didn’t buy the tickets ahead of time.) Count Orlok’s is accessible via car and walking. If you decide to drive, there is a parking garage nearby that costs 25 cent an hour (I’ve never seen such inexpensive parking rates); you can leave your car there and explore the city for less than $5 for the whole day. Walking to the museum is an option if you are in the touristy area of Salem (near the train station). I was lucky and got a buddy to drive me around, thus I am unclear about the public transportation in Salem.  Salem is only a half hour train ride from Boston via the commuter rail, and has plenty to do, so it’s a great day trip or overnight stay idea.

Count Orlok’s Nightmare Gallery has a no photography policy, so there’s only the exterior photo. (I’ll try to make it short.) Count Orlok’s is a cinematic monster museum that features a variety of wax figures from horror, science-fiction and fantasy films spanning from the 1920s to about 2010. Notable wax figures include Count Dracula, Frankenstein and the clown from Stephen King’s It. (Turns out I haven’t seen as many horror films as I thought I did, so the other figures are most likely notable too, but just not to me.) The museum includes plenty of information about the films. For example,  I learned that House of Wax (1953) was the first 3-D film from a major American studio. (I had no idea 3-D movies existed quite so early.) The museum creates a spooky atmosphere using dim lighting and an eerie soundtrack, which adds to the experience. In addition to wax figures, the museum also contains some autographed photos of actors who starred in the films, the life masks of famous horror celebrities, head props and even a replica of Dracula’s ring.

I spent approximately 45 minutes at Count Orlok’s Nightmare Gallery. I read everything and looked at all the exhibits super thoroughly (since I can’t rely on my pictures, I had to memorize as much as possible), so I spent quite a bit of time, but as always other visitors may take more or less time. The admission price is pretty decent for what the museum has to offer, there’s enough to see to keep me occupied, and the spooky atmosphere made it more enjoyable. Horror movie fans will definitely want to make a visit, as will anyone who enjoys wax figures. Adults and older children will probably enjoy the museum, not sure about children and anyone who scares easily. Nothing jumps out or pops up, but consider if you can handle what is offered before visiting, every person scares differently. Count Orlok’s Nightmare Gallery is a great place to see some iconic creatures from various horror films and learn about the history of horror films, so drop by and see how these creatures came to life and became the stuff of nightmares.

One thought on “Count Orlok’s Nightmare Gallery

  1. I went there when I was in Salem too, and while I thought the waxworks were really well done, I’m still annoyed by their no-photography policy. Usually the whole point of wax museums is getting to take pictures with your favourite characters/actors! I guess Count Orlok’s is doing just fine despite that though!

Leave a Reply

